Women’s water polo proves to be a winning team


Gisela Lagos, Editor-in-Chief

The San Diego Mesa College women’s water polo team, which was comprised of mostly first-year players, won the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference Championship on Nov. 4 and 5 and was the only San Diego college to advance to the Southern California Championships.

Along with winning the PCAC Championship, several members of the Mesa team won accolades.

Mojgan Malekpour was named the PCAC Player of the Year.  The All-Conference selections included Nicole Perez-Hall, Kenzie Kriesmer, Ashlee Smith, Kaitlyn McGee, Alina Duran, Liz Watson, and Jordan LaHaie

Head Coach Jim Fegan was named Coach of the Year.  Fegan also coaches Mesa’s water polo, swimming and diving teams.

The swim team is currently looking for students to join the swimming and diving team.  Practice will begin on Jan. 15, 201